collapse

Author Topic: mycological noob here  (Read 1937 times)

Offline Alex C.

mycological noob here
« on: November 16, 2014, 11:28:11 PM »
hey guys,

Alex here! I'm fully invested in spearfishing and free diving, I feel like its time that i broaden my horizons a bit and give mushroom hunting a try. I currently live in Ventura, in southern california, however i frequent my home town where i was born and raised in Napa.

I have a small understanding of mycorhizal fungi used as a symbiotic relationship for giant pumpkins, we are starting to delve into the use of different strains of fungi at different stages of the giants' life like azospirillium.

Now its time i get a better understanding of the identification and conditions to look for when it comes to edible mushrooms. if anyone could direct me to a source so i can start learning the ID, that would be awesome! IF someone wouldn't mind me tagging along with them, that would be cool too!

Alex C.

Offline chopper

Re: mycological noob here
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2014, 09:46:22 AM »
MD is great but I'd also get his All that the Rain Promises as a field guide -- the flow chart inside the covers is one of the best guides for a beginner and it references the pages in MD.

First two books here: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_c_0_14?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=all%20that%20the%20rain%20promises%20and%20more&sprefix=all+that+the+r%2Caps%2C297

Online lazyhook

« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2014, 10:04:41 AM »
randyrhoads' comments are all good, and I pretty much agree with them.

"Mushrooms Demystified" (frequently just referenced as "MD" by mycofiles) can be quite dense, especially for beginners.