collapse

Author Topic: Any Advice?  (Read 1834 times)

Offline JackSquirt

• We're life takers and heart breakers
Any Advice?
« on: June 19, 2014, 06:30:59 PM »
Next Thursday, my brother and I are headed down south to the Channel Islands for a 3 day white seabass/yellow tail freedive trip on the Peace. I think we will be dabbling in some halibut and reef hunting for calicos and the other locals as well.

I was just wondering if any of my ncuh brothers and sisters might have any insight into SoCal Underwater Hunting in this capacity? I've never done this kind of spearing before so any advice helps!

Currently we are equipped with a beautiful loaner Mike N (http://manmidhandles.webspawner.com) mid-handle speargun (thanks Mike!) and a loaner hammerhead 110 rear handle (thanks Jason!).

So yeah...any special thoughts? Questions? Comments? Concerns?

Hopefully fun times and fish slaying to be had, followed by a thorough trip report of our endeavors and a mildly entertaining gopro video.
Change is inevitable, growth is optional.

http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCAK_Ey3-Y0OQp06SLvni-pw

Offline Deke Jacobsen

• Used to be live2hunt707
Re: Any Advice?
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2014, 09:05:56 PM »
No advice... but good luck down there! Hope you have a blast and shoot lot's of fish!!!

Offline JackSquirt

« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2014, 09:29:22 PM »
No advice... but good luck down there! Hope you have a blast and shoot lot's of fish!!!

As long as i remember my hook breaths! Hup! Hupp!!!

Offline Road Runner

« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2014, 10:02:25 PM »
Do not shoot a black sea bass.

There can be jello tail outside the kelp edges.

Calico bass are skidish.

Halibut like shallow water.

Good luck  :)

Offline JackSquirt

« Reply #4 on: June 19, 2014, 10:57:08 PM »

Calico bass are skidish.

Thanks garrat. I'll look for dee jellows out there. Are the wsb more prone to the thick kelp? I'm sure it mostly depends on their food source...

Offline Road Runner