collapse

Author Topic: I Need Help Identifying  (Read 3908 times)

Offline Badfish

I Need Help Identifying
« on: December 14, 2012, 09:47:23 PM »
Hey All,
I am a newbie in the mushroom hunting arena.  I have seen some of you post on the subject in the last few years and have become curious/interested in the hunt for some wild edibles.  I have never joined an organized foray and I don't know any experts to hunt with.  Today I decided to strike out on my own very near my home in Aptos, just south of Santa Cruz.  I went out just to see what I would find.  I found a fairly large variety, most of which I couldn't come close to identifying.  I have a few pics of a couple I was hoping you could help me with.  Are these small porcinis?  I found ones I have seen in all the fairytales I believe they are Fly Agarics.  Are these edible as I have seen varying reports?  The last I am not sure of.  Any info would be greatly apreciated.  The hunt was a blast.

Offline todd

Re: I Need Help Identifying
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2012, 12:25:17 AM »
Not a porcini....

Yes you have a fly agaric ( amanita muscaria)

Last looks like a pine spike or cortinarious....
Todd Stagnaro

Offline Badfish

« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2012, 12:39:41 AM »
Thanks for that Todd.  I have been reading about the fly agaric and it seems most say it is edible and mildly toxic (hallucinogenic) but the toxins can be removed with boiling.  I won't try eating them as I am not sure what the outcome would be as to the so-called toxic effects.  I am not looking for that effect.  I found a large grove of them, about 30 mushrooms.

Offline Diver Dan

• Dan Romo
    • Studio Romo (My shop: Metal Fabrication, Sculpture restoration, Patina, Cast Bronze, etc)
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2012, 08:47:39 PM »
Yup, the amanita muscaria are hallucinogenic, and the hallucinogens can be cooked out. Feel free to PM me the GPS coordinates and I'll let you know how how strong they are.

Offline Jacks Diving