collapse

Author Topic: Breath hold tips.  (Read 6759 times)

Offline MATT MATTISON

• Dreaming of the day abalone is re-opened
  • Administrator
  • Diving My HAPPY PLACE
    • http://norcalunderwaterhunters.com/forum/MGalleryItem.php?id=1815
Breath hold tips.
« on: August 07, 2009, 10:38:47 AM »
Hey divers I was wondering what you all do to improve your breath hold ? I know the obvious is exercise and water time but what other techniques do you use. I know their is the PFI course but not everybody can afford 600 to 800$ dollars in this economy. Just some food for thought.
CHECK OUT MY YOU TUBE CHANNEL AT:
https://www.youtube.com/user/mattmattison/videos

THANK YOU TO MY AWESOME SPONSORS

Offline Stacy Stephenson

• surrender the booty
Re: Breath hold tips.
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2009, 01:55:55 PM »
I'm a general contractor and spend alot of time on the road from job to job and to the bay area from the Chico area, as Im driving i will hold my breath. Sounds funny but it helps me.
Stacy
Rock On
Stacy Stephenson
Rock Hard Dive free NCUWH's

Offline JASON HOLLIDAY

« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2009, 03:59:22 PM »
 When im sitting around on the couch I hold my breath and watch the clock and every time I take a new breath I try and hold it for 10 seconds longer until I reach my limit so far its about 1 min 30 sec. It helps a little but i havent determined if it helps me in the water yet. I think this is called static apnia?
Jason Holliday
Fishing pole's are over rated..........

Offline MATT MATTISON

• Administrator
  • Diving My HAPPY PLACE
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2009, 04:12:28 PM »
it is called static apnia when you are underwater and not moving

Offline surfbum138

« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2009, 11:33:48 AM »
I was a distance swimmer in high school and my coach had me breath through a straw when i was not in the water to get the body used to functioning with less oxygen. Start with a thicker straw and work you way down.

Abdvrob