collapse

Author Topic: rip currents  (Read 1520 times)

Offline mot

rip currents
« on: April 01, 2010, 02:46:05 PM »
I thought that this might be a good time to open a thread about rip currents. Seeing as the likely cause for the first ab rescue. The question was asked in the rescue post if anyone had ever been caught in one. I myself have been in a few, and do not find them to be that enjoyable! It will put the fear of god right in you. I saw that matt posted an answer but I thought that perhaps this deserved it's own thread to further examine the rip. I know looking at the swell direction and the shape of the structure that it is running into plays in to rips but I thought more people might have stories and advice in spotting them and how to deal with them. I am by no means a expert diver I only get out 10 or 12 times a year and am always ready to learn more. Let us see where this goes.

tom

Offline Brandon Turknett

• RATHERBDIVING
Re: rip currents
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2010, 03:11:00 PM »
this was a good idea tom. though ive never been caught in one yet, i was diving a little spot between stillwater and ocean cove with two of my cousins on a day that was probably to rough for us. we made about 4-5 dives and relized shore was getting a little farther away everytime so i motioned to head back. niether of them were having any fun anyways so it was no big deal to them.