collapse

Author Topic: First wood gun for inshore/hole hunting?  (Read 905 times)

Offline MauiBen

First wood gun for inshore/hole hunting?
« on: November 27, 2018, 01:22:23 PM »
I'm just getting into the sport. A friend took me spearfishing at Stillwater and we got a bunch of monkey faced eels, rockfish, etc. I loved it! I've bought all my own gear now (Mako Black Friday sale ;D), with the exception of a gun. I'm leaning toward a wood gun with a tabbed/finned spear. I've been looking at the Riffe Mahogany Competitor and the JBL Woody Elite.

https://speargun.com/products/mahogany-competition-series-riffe-spearfishing-speargun?variant=25987752449
https://www.jblspearguns.com/product/woody-elite-series/

They're around the same price. Anyone have any experience with these? Also, what size would be good for Norcal inshore/hole hunting? From what I've read, people use pretty short guns around here. Is the JBL "38 special" size too long? Otherwise, the next step down is the "Custom", which looks a little dinky. For Riffe, I was thinking the size #0 would be good.

Thanks for any help.

Offline Adam415

• Freediver
Re: First wood gun for inshore/hole hunting?
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2018, 02:45:20 PM »
Riffe Euro 75 would also be a good option. If set on the competitor the "0" or the "1" would be a good size. The "00" is pretty short. If you get the paduck competitors they are cheaper.

Offline Rob102

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2018, 02:51:03 PM »
Wood is durable but even the Lower end models are over priced.

Th JBL 38 special has a rock point with a retainer ring to hold the flippers back to remove the fish.  I have found these to be a pain in the ass.  The single floppier is a better design in my experience.  Riffe has that style and so does Mike N., who sells handmade guns on this site.